Brotherhood by The Gibson Brothers

Brotherhood - The Gibson BrothersThe Gibson Brothers — siblings Eric and Leigh — have twice been honored with the International Bluegrass Music Association’s Entertainer of the Year Award. Raised on a dairy farm near Ellenburg Depot, New York, the two started playing an old banjo and guitar their father had. Soon they were performing their music in church, and these days they are tops when it comes to brother duos in bluegrass. Their latest CD, Brotherhood (Rounder Records), covers the songs of legendary brother duos like Jim & Jesse, the Louvins, the Everly Brothers, and more. The band: Eric Gibson (banjo), Leigh Gibson (guitar), Mike Barber (bass), Clayton Campbell (fiddle), Jesse Brock (mandolin).

Buy Now

Purchase on Amazon Download on iTunes

From the publisher:

Brotherhood is both a homecoming as well as a confident and creative step forward for the Gibson Brothers. With this work, they pay homage to those who came before, through a brilliant collection of covers, originally made famous by some of the classic brother duets of the past. In a career that sees them well-established as two-time IBMA Entertainers of the Year and Song of the Year winner for one of their originals, this album is already being hailed by some as their strongest record to date. In Julie Thanki’s notes, she recognizes the record as honoring the Gibsons’s influences, rooted in classic country and bluegrass brother acts, while further establishing them as a vital roots music group with an even more promising future than their already distinctive past. Brotherhood gives us timeless and enjoyable music at its finest, an inspired set of songs that shows yet another side of the Gibson Brothers.

Audio for this preview is no longer available.

Track list:

  1. Bye Bye Love
  2. The Sweetest Gift
  3. The Angel with Blue Eyes
  4. Each Season Changes You
  5. I Have Found the Way
  6. How Mountain Girls Can Love
  7. It’ll Be Her
  8. What a Wonderful Savior is He
  9. Long Gone
  10. Eastbound Train
  11. Sweet Little Miss Blue Eyes
  12. Seven Year Blues
  13. Long Time Gone
  14. I’m Troubled I’m Troubled
  15. Crying in the Rain

As heard on A Prairie Home Companion

“I Have Found the Way”

“Eastbound Train”